About Me

My name is Guilianna Marie McGinniss-- and, yes, I'm pretty sure my parents spent 9 months trying to come up with the longest name possible for me. No worries though; you can call me Guilie.


I grew up in Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania, where I spent my days struggling in accelerated math courses and my nights on the soccer field. I fell head over and heels for a jock and wrote about it as if I was Taylor Swift. With that being said, I thought I'd create a space where I could share those intimate writings with a public audience. That's how my blog was born.

I wrote about everything. I wrote about my favorite makeup products, the latest fashion trends, and the boys I liked-- unnamed of course. Eventually, my blog grew and developed into a safe space where individuals could come together and talk about "stuff."

In January 2017, I decided to expand my blog network. I built relationships with brands and companies via different social media platforms like Instagram and Twitter. I really enjoy helping brands promote products through marketing strategies I offer on my blog. I've been working with companies for the past 3 years and still really enjoy it.

In August 2017, I started a new, yet very exciting chapter of my life. I began my undergraduate course work at Cabrini University, a small, private college in Radnor, Pennsylvania. Early on, I declared my major in psychology. It wasn't until a year later when I declared two minors. I have a minor in both English and Spanish. I completed my academic requirements in 2.5 years, while also being inducted into 4 national honor societies. I also took part in my college's Honors Program. Needless to say, I was very busy. #Classof2020

In December 2019, my family and I moved to Lakeland, Florida. So far, so good-- I absolutely love it down here. The only thing I don't like is that my best friend and partner in crime is up in Pennsylvania until May 2021. Andres is my boyfriend who slid into my DMs one night. I never thought it would evolve into what we have now.

So, what am I doing now?

After spending some time volunteering with at-risk migrant children, and later a preschool teacher, I decided to pursue a job in education. In August 2020, I will be a 5th grade teacher at a local private school. I am so excited! On top of that, I will continue to further my education. I will be obtaining my M.S. in Psychology. Where will I be in 5 years? 10 years? I'm not 100% sure, but I can tell you this: I will be doing my part in the world to create positive change.

How old are you?

I am currently 21-years-old. I was born on October 25th, 1998.

How long have you been blogging?

I have been blogging for the past 6 years. However, I've been blogging "seriously" for the past 3 years. 

What type of camera do you use?

I love my camera! I use the Canon EOS Rebel T6i Digital SLR with EF-S 18-55mm IS STM Lens - Wi-Fi Enabled.  

What's your advice for people who want to start a blog?

Do it! You learn things as you go, so don't be discouraged if it doesn't turn out the way you had hoped in the beginning. Over time it will develop into the space you want. And, more importantly, don't worry about what other people think. Stay true to what your dreams and values are.

What's your favorite part about blogging?

My favorite part of blogging is interacting with the community. I love reading your comments and stories. They're so inspiring. 

What's currently your favorite song?

That is so hard to say-- especially with Taylor Swift recently dropping folklore. I absolutely love the song "invisible string." It's so sweet and romantic. 

What are some of your favorite stores?

I absolutely love Marshall's and TJ Maxx. I am always finding brands like Kate Spade and Lilly Pulitzer for decent prices. I also enjoy shopping at Kohl's. Their clearance racks never fail to disappoint. (Fun fact: the dress I am wearing above is from Kohl's. It was less than $3!) I've also recently got more into thrifting. My boyfriend and I like to go to secondhand stores searching for vintage Lilly Pulitzer items. My favorite secondhand store is Top Buttons

How long have you and Andres been together? What are your future plans?

Andres and I have been together for almost two years. We started dating in September 2019. He is planning to move to Lakeland, Florida in May 2021 after he graduates college. 





8 comments:

  1. I have the same ambitions. To become a journalist,hopefully for a magazine company. You are definitely on the right track. Keep it up girl, you can do anything you put your mind to :) xoxo

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you so much. I wish the best of luck to you. :) xx

      Delete
  2. Ah, New York City. It's glorius - bustling, even at three in the morning. The crisp air, the awesome people. I want to live there, too. :)
    ~ Sanjana
    peridotcove.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
  3. Your blog has come such a long way! I absolutely adore the look and content ^.^ Proud of you!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you so much, Ony! Your words mean so much to me! :) x

      Delete
  4. Omg I have been following you for a few months now and just fully read that you are studying psychology!That's my major as well. I'm not sure what I want to do with it. I have three things in mind, Attorney, Social Work and /or Journalism as well!
    I love your blog, I hope you achieve all your dreams girl! I am having a hard time connecting with bloggers so seeing that your major is also psychology got me unusually excited! Good luck to you!! ������❤

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Really? That's so cool! I'm actually still up in the air with my major. I'm still a senior in high school so I still have some time. I was thinking about doing social work too. I have to do some more research. I appreciate you taking the time to read and comment on my blog. You're too sweet, Nikki! xoxo

      Delete